Login

Forgot password
Cancel

It's All Good!

ID: 2s9

Name:

Laura

Is / are:

Female

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Biologist

Preferred locations:

North East England North West England Yorkshire and the Humber All regions except South Yorkshire, Lincolnshire Scotland Wales All Others (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

Hello everyone!
I am at your disposal to look after your home, garden and animals of various kinds and I have references from 8 previous house-sits.
After some time house-sitting and travelling in my campervan, I am now back living in Scotland near Dumfries and could help out anyone in Scotland or the north of England/Wales - but equally am always up for a spot of travel to Europe for a few weeks.
I first started house-sitting in the winter of 2015-16 and spent nearly 3 months in the Apuane Alps in Tuscany which was lovely and I much enjoyed some fine days out in the mountains. The Wimbledon Queue has become an annual event for me now and I saw Andy win the Championship that year. Then I volunteered in a Retreat Centre in Dorset in August, helping out in their walled organic garden and assisting with preparations for their Annual Summer Festival where much happy music and new friendships were enjoyed. In the winter of 2016-17 I went to France, greatly enjoying travelling through that lovely country where I looked after numerous cats, several dogs and 6 chickens.
I returned to the UK to sit for a couple and their 3 cats in Shropshire during February of 2017, and was invited to return there for another week in March. In April I was in Edinburgh for a week taking care of 5 chickens and a lovely cat for a family on holiday. That all passed very well too. This was followed by a fabulous walking tour of Argyll and the Isles of Jura and Islay before returning to my house near Inverness for the summer to prepare it for sale. This accomplished, I've now relocated and am busy with my cottage and planning my garden in the milder climes of Dumfries & Galloway. In October 2017 I was house-& dog sitting near Nottingham and this year I sat for some cats near Edinburgh for 2 weeks in February and most recently for a menagerie of rabbit, snake, 2 dogs and 2 cats for a week near Loch Lomond.
That was my 10th house-sit and I am very much enjoying all these new experiences. I am particularly fond of cats, and dogs will need to be properly trained for exercising and responsive to instructions.
I am a biologist by former profession and worked in Aquaculture for many years and then in Plant Science. I am a keen walker and love to be near mountains and woods. I also love gardening and several years ago spent some time WWOOFing (World-Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms) in southern Spain and all over Britain. This allowed me to enjoy looking after sheep and hens, the odd goat a little bit of work with cows and lots of chickens. Mainly I helped people establish and maintain their vegetable gardens and polytunnels, or assisted in planting, sowing, harvesting and running the Veggie Box schemes on commercial organic farms. One farm specialised in medicinal herbs and that is my particular interest. At home I cultivated my own 'physic garden' and enjoyed making my own medicinals. While living and working in northern Scotland, I undertook a Permaculture Course and I am particularly inclined towards pursuing the ethics and principles of Permaculture, which encourages nurturing the land and those that live upon it for the benefit of all living creatures and the heritage of future generations.
I am fit and healthy and having lived on my own for years, I am quite competent and resourceful with respect to general house-keeping, maintenance or suprises and you can rest assured your property will be in good hands. You will return to find everything as you left it and your pets well taken care of.
I hope to hear from you soon and look forward to some more lovely experiences travelling and house-sitting.

Laura

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top