Cannot login?

DBS Refs Reliable Honest Experienced

ID: 890





Age group:

55 plus


Author/House/Pet Sitter/Security

Years active:

2 years

Preferred locations:

All the United Kingdom (full regions list)

Current bookings:

31 Mar 30 Jun 29 Aug 30 Sep 29 Sep 31 Oct 4 Dec 5 Mar '25 4 Dec 5 Mar '25

Reply rating:

5 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

I have been house sitting since 2008, which I do to keep a roof over my head.

Dates I am available are currently:
From 1st July - 29th August
From 31st October to 4th Dec
From 5th March to 31st March 2025
From June 30th 2025 onwards

I am unable to house/pet sit inside a ULEZ area.

I've looked after so many cats and dogs over the years.
I enjoyed my own black Labrador, Jake, for over 13 years.
I'm as happy to house sit a cat in a tiny cottage as I am a dog in a large house.
I'm happy to house sit purely as security and keeping the house clean and garden tidy should you not have animals.

Please see my reference excerpts at the end of this profile. I will gladly supply full character and house sitting references with contact details of my referees for verification along with a copy of my DBS check (same as the old Criminal Records Bureau check) by email.

I am a fully active 74 years young self-help books author, educated, life experienced, male, single, straight, English, security minded, dependable, responsible, honest, flexible and come with built in sense of humour.
I have owned my own hotels and businesses and I look after large, small and tiny properties.
I am a thorough cleaner and keep houses and gardens tidy.
I'm available for house, pet or boat sitting and security.

I liaise with neighbours, handle mail and message forwarding (I am extremely security conscious) and whatever else you may require.
I have my own vehicle, am a non-smoker, do not drink alcohol, have nothing whatsoever to do with drugs and do not hold parties.

I have completed a long term (76 weeks) house sitting position at Tadworth, Surrey over three years as well as many other long term positions.
In January 2017 I completed an 18 month job looking after and maintaining a large house and grounds to the west of Inverness followed by a 12 month job doing the same in the same locality.
In both of these positions I was involved in overseeing building works, renovations and more.

I have a clean driving licence and I'm 'old school' so rest assured I will be looking after your interests at all times to give you peace of mind while you are away.

Reference excerpts:
To whom it may concern

Jess has house sat for us on two occasions both of 6 weeks duration. Our main concern was our dog Ruby who is very nervous and takes time to adjust to new people especially men. Jess was incredibly patient and caring to her and she absolutely loved him.
In addition our home was in a neat, tidy and clean condition upon our return.
I have no hesitation in recommending Jess.

Gillian Arger, Richmond, N.Yorks. 2023

We have had Jess come to house and dog sit twice now. The first time for 6 weeks and the second for 3 months and already have booked him again for next year. Jess was more than we expected. He not only looked after our dog and fish but did our garden and we came back to our house as we left it. We were kept up to date most days with photos and videos of our beloved dog who had numerous walks and a lot of fun. Both Jess and Olaf (our dog) became very attached to each other. We were able to enjoy our time away without having to worry about anything. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Jess for house and pet sitting.

Beverley, Port Talbot, 29 June, 2023

Reference for Jess July 2021
To Whom it may concern,

Jess has been a very reliable and honest house sitter for me at East Quarry Cottage, Perthshire for the last year. He has maintained the property, keeping the house and garden clean and tidy at all times,  including cleaning the house from top to bottom when he arrived.

Throughout the year he has cared for the garden and trimmed a 40ft high hedge, which had grown out of control. He has mowed the lawn regularly.

Jess installed a new log burner into the property. He chain sawed, transported and split wood for the burner.

The property was on the market to be sold and Jess liaised with the estate agents and showed prospective buyers over the property on my behalf. He liaised with neighbours and has been clear and communicative at all times. I can happily recommend him.

For any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me:

Anna J

'I would have no hesitation at all in recommending Jess to you as ideal for fulfilling positions where you are looking for someone you can utterly rely on and who will not let you down.'

‘Jess was employed by me from 2016 to 2017 (full year). I cannot speak too highly of his diligence and interest in the house and garden and his ever helpful and kind disposition.’
Mrs.H.E.Alexander MBE, FRSA

'Jess came to our rescue in May 2019 when we were let down at the last minute by a Pet Sitter just before a 6 week holiday in Europe. Jess turned up exactly when he said he would and looked after our aging Staffie and our cat. He also cut the grass and kept the house immaculate until we returned. Jess went above and beyond when he also took the dog in to have her nails clipped whilst we were away. No mean feat given her over excitement at being taken out for the day! We would have no hesitation in recommending Jess for house and pet sitting, we came back and were very impressed with what he had done whilst we were away.' Graeme W, Cornwall, UK.
 'At all times I felt totally confident that our house was in good hands and that I could be sure to be find all in order on my return. I was entirely satisfied with Jess's services and have no hesitation in recommending him to others.' Julia Tweed, Surrey, UK July 2012

'I consider him above all things as being honest and reliable' Robin Farmer, London, UK. Company owner/director.

'He is honest, reliable and very hard working. He is intelligent and adaptable and I am sure would adjust quickly and effectively to any enterprise' John Partridge, Stockbridge, Hampshire, UK. Company owner/director.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners