Forgot password

Experienced, green-fingered pet-lovers!

ID: 54b


Catherine and Shelley

Is / are:

A couple

Age group:

36 to 45


Carer and Groundskeeper

Preferred locations:

All the United Kingdom (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

We are a warm-hearted and responsible couple from Brighton.
We recently packed all of our possessions into storage and rented out our flat, embarking on an exploratory adventure..
With our trusty classic Hymer - Hesta - as our means of transport and base, we are combining house-sits, voluntary work projects and pure travelling as a way of exploring different ways of living, so that we can get a fuller picture of what way of life we actually want to setttle into - and where!
We are home owners and landlords, so we know very well how to look after a home. Shelley has been working as a groundsman/gardener and
handyman, so he is able to undertake jobs around the house if necessary and we both have a background in gardening.
We both adore animals of pretty much any kind - but especially the furry ones! I have always lived with dogs and cats throughout my life.
Shelley and I always seem to get adopted by the neighbourhood cats wherever we go! If we know they have a home to go to, we never feed them, they just come anyway, for strokes, a bit of play and a calm place to claim, relax and go to sleep!
When this happens, we always endeavour to make contact with the actual owners so they know where their furry friends are and so that we are all able to communicate any concerns, should they occur.
If your pet has a medical condition and it's necessary to administer medicines, I have done so a few times before over the years and we can be relied upon to take this responsibility very seriously.
We love going out for walks in the countryside and often feel sad that we don't have a lovely dog to play with while we're out. We just have to settle for giving lots of attention to all the friendly doggies who come to say hello!
So we relish any opportunity to take a new furry friend out for walks and to give them lots of love and strokes while their family is away!
We will be travelling nomads for quite a while yet, so hope to have the opportunity to enjoy helping you out, whilst having some animal love and a space to call home for a while!
Looking forward to hearing from you! :)

We have also become alerted to the fact that many people have holiday rentals which they manage themselves, as we have been asked if we would consider managing these, aside from their house sitting requirements.
This is an area which we are very interested in, so we are happy to come to an agreement for house sits which involve keeping your holiday rental going whilst you are away! :)

N.B. As well as our official reviews on Mindahome - found at the bottom of the page - many of our previous house-sits have been outside of this site, so our home/pet owner friends are not able to post their reviews here. We have copied and pasted their reviews below and hope you can take it on good faith that they are genuine - we are honest people and would feel very uncomfortable about posting fake reviews!

"Dear Catherine and Shelley,
Thank you so much what you did for my pets and the property on Ibiza. At the day of my arrival I could see how close they were with you, even Chicky was happy with you.
You did some great work on the terraces and the garden and kept the pool as well in good condition. I will recommend you to friends and hope that you are available for the next time.
A big hug for you both,

Eduardo - Ibiza: 1 week sitting for 1 dog, 2 cats, 1 chicken and 7 fish! October 2018

"Shelley and Catherine were trusted house-sitters for my mother's flat in Hove on two occasions last year.

The first time was for a period of 3 months from the end of March until the end of June, 2018.

The second time was for the month of November, 2018.

During both of their house-sits, everything was kept in order. The flat was looked after and well maintained.

Shelley and Catherine were respectful and polite and enjoyed good rapport with the neighbours.

They were communicative at all times and kept me up-to date with any issues concerning the flat.
I have known both Shelley & Catherine for 10 years and have always found them to be honest, trust-worthy and reliable.

Shelley is also my go-to gardener and handyman, always working to a high standard and helping me with all sorts of tasks and projects over the years.

Shelley and Catherine are a lovely very capable couple who I can highly recommend as house sitters."

Linda - Hove: 3 month + 1 month house sit, various dates throughout 2018

"Catherine and Shelley have often looked after our dogs Pickle, Spot and Rakkit. They have also house and dog sat for us and we have been very confident in their ability to look after both the house and the animals.
The dogs love them and are always delighted to see them!
I have no hesitation in recommending Catherine and Shelley as totally trustworthy home and animal sitters."

Cathy - Brighton: 1-5 day house and dog sits over various dates throughout 2017-2019

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners