Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Keen to travel and meet new people!

ID: 4ey

Name:

liz

Is / are:

Female

Age group:

46 to 55

Profession:

Teacher

Preferred locations:

All the United Kingdom (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

I am a Primary School teacher,on a career break. My main interest and love really is animals of all shapes and sizes.

I volunteer at a local animal rescue centre exercising, handling and doing some training to prepare them for rehoming . This requires patience, as with meeting any new animal and gaining its trust and it is a delight when animals come to you freely. Cuddling and playing is also a bonus for both parties!
I have fostered and adopted rescue dogs and regularly pet sit for a variety of animals, though mainly cats and dogs. I have kept many pets myself including snakes, rabbits, guinea pigs, cockatiels, chinchillas and chipmunks, as well as fish and terrapins.

I do a lot of walking (great for taking the pups out) and enjoy other outdoor activities such as canoeing and archery for which I also coach. I run a part time Forest School to nurture a love of wildlife and the outdoors for children of all ages (including us 'old' kids). In quieter moments my favourite activity is getting buried into a good book or ten.
I am interested in housesitting for both houses with or without pets, and am looking for a change of routine from my own.
I am renting out my own house, so I understand the needs and concerns for letting other people into your property and putting the care of it into their hands. I enjoy the company of others but am also content to be 'far from the madding crowd' and experience life which may be more self sufficient and resourceful.
As I will not be in full time employment, housesitting will also provide an economical solution to accommodation whilst I visit different places. As animals are my greatest passion, and I recently lost my own dog to a tumour and miss so much, I am excited for the opportunity to look after other people's pets whilst they are away, knowing they will get my full attention and care.
I house sit regularly for clients, for up to three weeks at a time during holidays or for weekends when required. This includes; exercising and playing with dogs, playing with cats, cleaning and maintaining equipment, providing enrichment for smaller animals or regular handling as well as feeding and administering medicines if required and general observations of health and well being and finally lots of attention and love. I can provide references on request as I have not used Trusted Housesitters before.

I find owners appreciate a photo update of their pets to see how they are getting on (and have even arranged a skype so that pets can see their owners by owners request, though this may cause a confused look by some pups when they hear voices!)

I have achieved a level 3 qualification in Animal Management and Behaviour which included pet first aid and administering medication as well as common illnesses and diseases.

I have worked as an animal education officer which required regular handling and presentation of a wide variety of creatures from reptiles and insects to ponies.

Through keeping my own animals I have experienced the highs and lows of all ages and backgrounds, particularly of cats and dogs, from 8 weeks to old age. Just like people they all have individual needs and just like us, different foibles and temperaments!

I run my own household and as a teacher I can problem solve and work by myself as well as communicate clearly with people. Renting out a house, I have considered many of the quirks and requests that being in someone else's house requires.

Although I love animals, I am also interested in housesitting in places with no pets to just get involved in community or have some down time alone.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top