Login

Forgot password
Cancel

On the road again .....

ID: 4io

Name:

Anita

Is / are:

A couple

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

retired

Preferred locations:

All the United Kingdom (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

We are a German/ British couple who set out five years ago to explore life after work. First renting a lovely French house and after three summers deciding it was time to explore different regions of France, we were alerted to the possibilities offered through house-sitting. It has enabled us to learn about new customs, heritage, history, art and landscapes and most importantly meeting people who share their way of life with us. To see life from different perspectives is the great bonus we get through travelling. We fell totally in love with France and the French way of life only to find us taking up a year-long house-sit in la bella Italia and then taking up another long house-sit in Puglia ( Italy) where we are at the moment. Needless to say we love Italy and are trying to learn the language too as well as exploring a new way of cooking and living and eating the Italian way.

In our life before travelling, I was living in Germany, Britain, India where I met my husband. I worked as an art teacher, Tom has more than 30 years of working in the `Green Industry`. We lived in a very old house in the Scottish countryside with our horses, ducks, cats and chickens, gardening, enjoying country life and bringing up our two children who have left home long ago, our son living in Hong Kong and our daughter and her family still in Scotland.

We are now playing with the idea to return for a while to Britain to see if we could live again in the UK considering the uncertainties brought about by `Brexit`.

We love to live in the countryside and enjoy our natural surroundings and like to come to know the area we find ourselves in. We are non-smokers and both have British driving licences.

During our house-sits we have looked after beautiful homes, dogs, cats, chickens, goldfish, we have looked after extensive grounds and even mastered the art of pool maintenance. We ran an Airbnb business with Superhost status, looked after some gites for house owners when they were not able to do so themselves and successfully helped our first landlord to sell his home very quickly. All of it was very enjoyable and very worth our time. We still learn something new every day through this way of living.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top