Login

Cannot login?
Cancel

Usually working with elephants

ID: 33g

Name:

Matthew

Is / are:

Single

Age group:

26 to 35

Profession:

Education / Scientific Research

Years active:

1 year

Preferred locations:

East Midlands East of England London North East England North West England South East England South West England West Midlands Yorkshire and the Humber Scotland Wales All Others (full regions list)

Reply rating:

4.3 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

Hello! I'm Matthew; a 31 year old zoologist / data scientist, professional SCUBA diver, and unprofessional tea aficionado. I've recently wrapped up a PhD at the University of Oxford in veterinary oncology or something or other (trying to figure out why whales, elephants and other large beasties don't get much cancer, as it happens). I'm also a tutor - teaching maths, programming, and biology to students at the university, else GCSE and A-Level students online. When not scurrying in the undergrowth playing Attenborough, I have a thing for painting, practicing French, and getting my hands all mucky trying to grow a good crop of asparagus at my allotment.

On why I'm interested in house-sitting: not only to enjoy a nice change of pace and scenery from the hectic work schedule and city living I've been leading the last few years, but also more recently to find somewhere to focus on finishing writing up my research papers and the books I'm working on, while saving up for a place of my own. And if I can help some folks by being my usual accountable, green-fingered self in the process, all the better!

Most people would describe me as affable and good-natured. I'd describe myself as introverted, insatiably curious, and probably a little too particular about being neat (I can't work in a disorganised space, eek!).

It goes without saying I have a wealth of experience working with, on, and around animals. With a background in veterinary science, I'm always keen to lend a hand where our furry, feathery and other friends are concerned - whether it's performing microsurgery on the bowels of an anaesthetised newt, to going for long walkies with Fido - your beloved companions are in good hands. I have particular experience with exotic and aquatic species, but all creatures great n' small are welcome. I even come with my own bee suit... !

As of November '23, I've house sat for over a dozen people over the years; and have been sitting in and around London essentially full-time via MindaHome and other websites since June 2022. I've similarly been a Junior Dean at the university going on ~4 years; a live-in role, part-welfare - being on-call 24/7 to assist with pastoral care, student emergencies etc. - and part-security - doing 'rounds thrice a day to check the property is all safe and secure (nobody left all the windows open, or the oven on, heaven forbid!), and reporting or else dealing with any other building issues directly. I'm more than happy to provide a CV and references if that's your cuppa' tea - just ask.

Anywho, thanks for stumbling across my profile and taking the time to read. If you have any burning questions - sure, about house-sitting, or, well, about anything really (i.e. on why I spent time sending newts into space) - do drop me a message; I look forward to a good chat.

In the meantime, take care, and enjoy the summer. Adieu!
Read more...

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top