Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Writer with Gumption

ID: 1fb

Is / are:

Female

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Writer

Preferred locations:

All the United Kingdom (full regions list)

Current bookings:

18 May 20 Nov

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

With a straight run of thirty-five, five-star references from house sitting assignments undertaken via TrustedHouseSitters, I have 'Super Sitter' status there & can forward references to you.

As well as temporary assignments, I dream now of taking up a full-time house and animal care role, being based permanently with lovely people somewhere - in the role of a kind of latter-day Woman Friday and Animal Whisperer – unpaid, simply in return for accommodation in any kind of self-contained area.

My aim would be to provide, for the home and all its residents, the same level of love and care that you provide, leaving you free to travel as often and for as long as you might wish.

Creating a shiny, sparkling home makes me feel all is right in the world - and I find almost any member of the animal kingdom endlessly intriguing, endearing and funny. This clearly means that becoming a house sitter (as well as a writer) was probably always written into my destiny (!) I take great pride in seeing animals thrive happily under my care and in leaving every house loved and beautifully cared-for.

For the rest of this current year, I'm afraid I only have availability from 20th November.

Caring for a home and looking after animals are the perfect counter-balance to the sedentary work of writing, and if that means your home and its sundry creatures receive extra loving care and attention, that is a genuine win-win situation.

Being ‘average’ at anything has never interested me. I am conscientious, diligent and hard-working; I don’t do things by halves, always go above and beyond, and aim to be the sort of house sitter that I would wish to have. You will be able to relax and enjoy your time away in absolute confidence that your home and pets are in good and loving hands. I honour the trust you place in me, value the kindness and generosity you show me as a guest in your home and aim to repay that by respecting and caring for every aspect of your home to the very best of my ability.

House and pet care is just a great fit for me: writing involves long hours at the desk and pets love to have people ‘at home’. I’m not going to be out all hours sight-seeing or socialising. I, in turn, love to be around animals of all sorts, benefiting immensely from their unconditional love and companionship.

As a writer, I find that I work much more efficiently within the fixed time periods of house sitting assignments, setting myself writing targets to achieve during each one.

Since beginning house and pet sitting, I have been lucky enough to undertake thirty-five very successful, happy assignments with several repeat bookings.

I am a very practical, hands-on person, resourceful and dependable - single and a non-smoker. I funded myself through an M.A. and, later, through my music training, by working as a housekeeper.

I have always lived in old, character properties and know that they have their quirks – and that a little patience and understanding is needed. It is an extraordinary privilege to live in historic buildings and an entirely reasonable inconvenience to have to deal with rooks coming down chimneys, electricity going off, pipes bursting and septic tank disasters.

Being in remote locations on my own does not trouble me as I have lived in out-of-the-way places for twenty years or more. In past years I was lucky enough to live for five years in the top floor of a magnificent Georgian country house, taking care of the property (with its pets and livestock) when the family were away.

Animals have always been a very important part of my life: dogs, cats and horses. I've always had Labradors and until recently, and for fifteen years, shared my home with a much-loved little grey and white cat. As a teenager, I spent every free hour working at a livery stable run by an ex-cavalry officer who gave me a very good grounding in exacting standards of animal care. More recently, through house sitting, I’ve been lucky enough to care for quite a few chickens and ducks too.

A Renault Scenic (with plenty of space in the back for dogs) gets me from A to B.

I have had an official police check carried out through the UK government’s Disclosure and Barring Service and can send you a scan of that formal document.

Thank you for reading through!

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top