Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Geoffrey Blyth

ID: 5ka

Is / are:

Male

Age group:

55 plus

Profession:

Pensioner.

Preferred locations:

All the United Kingdom (full regions list)

Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

Born and bred in Bulawayo, Rhodesia 1948. So have just turned 71. Still fit and strong although a bit incapacitated with old leg and other injuries. Educated at Christian Brothers College, Bulawayo. Served in the British South Africa Police in Rhodesia. Did my Military service with the Police in PATU (Police Anti Terroist Unit) and Special Branch Selous Scouts Section until the end of hostilities. 14 years. Injured during the conflict. Spent my whole life in Africa. A varied career due to unsettled conditions in Zimbabwe, but included Irrigation and Water Works Engineer, Farming Management, and Tourism and Wildlife. I also worked in Afghanistan for a year as a Security Consultant during the 2004/5 Elections. A lover of the outdoors and wildlife and environmental affairs. Involved with Wildlife Conservation and anti-poaching ever since living in Rhodesia, then Zimbabwe. Dog lover of note. ALWAYS had a dog in my life. Except now while living in UK for past 4 years. All my dogs, from Bull Terrier, to Jack Russell have been my close and life long companions to me. I have been living in UK for past 4 years, since I had to come here under duress from Zimbabwe. Am on a British Passport. Am divorced with two lovely children. My ex wife still lives in Zimbabwe with my youngest son Chad who is 14 years old and at Peter House College there. My daughter Bronwyn is 18 and is doing a Equine Course here in Desborough, at Moulton College, Nottingham. I am single and live on my own. I survive on Pension, Pension Credit, and Disability Allowance. Have had several temporary jobs since living here. Gardener, Builders Assistant, Shop Attendant, and Kitchen Staff at a Restaurant. As I am not so agile any longer, and have a few minor medical problems that need to be sorted, I am not working at the moment. I am an avid reader, love history, and presently writing my memoirs. My food needs are simple and include one main meal a day. I enjoy a beer or two in the evenings and am a non smoker. Keen on bird-life here in UK. Quite happy on my own, but would like to get out and see a bit more of UK.....hopefully by doing a bit of House Sitting in different places. I do not have a vehicle, and only use my bike to get around here in Maccelsfield. The bit of travelling to see old Rhodie mates here has been by Bus or Train. I do have a Brit Drivers License though. I travel back to Zimbabwe quite regularly to see my son, and spend much time in the bush and at school with him. I still have my old 4x4 vehicle and dog in Harare where both looked after by a good friend, and from where I collect and then head off into the wilds with both, and of course my son, when back. As my daughter is very busy studying and doing part time work, I very seldom see her here in UK. But it is nice to have her close by. While living here in Maccelsfield I train at DW Gym quite regularly, but otherwise my life rather sedentary after what I was used to in Zimbabwe. So look forward to some new scenery while House Sitting, which I have done before back in Zimbabwe and in South Africa. And also having the company of pet animals if present. I have a mild to hard temperament, do not like crowds or cities, and prefer the countryside and open places, and peace and quiet of Nature. I enjoy gardens and gardening, art and photography. And I miss my homeland, the bush and my kids terribly.

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top