Forgot password

Steyning, South East England

ID: 3ln



Nearest major city:


Sitter required for:

11 May 2019 22 May 2019

Number of days:


Pet sitting required:


Sitter's pets welcome:


Reply rating:

5 stars

More Information

I am looking for someone who would like to come and look after Lucky, my extremely sweet-natured and still-sprightly 11 yr-old beagle, when I go away. The period I expect to need cover for is 12-22 May.

I would be very happy if someone could however arrive on the 11 May to spend 24 hours with Lucky and with me, to get to know us both (and for Lucky to get to know you, importantly) - and maybe to learn some of the local walks too. I leave home on 12 May. And I'll be back fairly late on the evening of 21 May, hence the end date for the sit being the following day - 22 May.

Lucky loves going out for walks, both slow (sniffy) explorations around the village but also - at least once daily - a proper off-lead country walk of 1.5-2 hours (longer if you want.) He needs the regular exercise to counterbalance his greedy beagle nature - so it is important that you enjoy a good, long, daily walk in the countryside, too!

Being a beagle, Lucky is both gentle and sociable, and he doesn't like being left on his own. I try not to leave him at home alone for more than a couple of hours on any given day. He's not hard work when you're at home - in fact when he's not out walking (or carefully monitoring the possibility of getting something to eat) he mainly enjoys sleeping!

Steyning itself is a lovely and picturesque village with good shops and usually plenty going on. My home is a nice little 2-bedroom (mine and a spare room, both with double beds) terraced house, built in 1860, with a small, fairly private back garden. It's situated on the village High Street, with a good range of shops and facilities only minutes from the front door.

You can also start a wide range of different and lovely walks directly from the house. There are field, woodland and riverside options, as well as many different walking routes up into and around the green hills of the South Downs (Steyning is situated just below the long distance walking trail called the South Downs Way) - all of which are easily accessible from the house, without ever having to use a car.

There are no other 'duties' - just enjoy the house (live as if in your own home, and leave it pretty much as you find it) - and look after the dog lovingly!

I look forward to hearing from you :-)


House sitter found. See similar listings

House Sitting in England

Tower bridge London EnglandHouse sitting in England is the ideal way to see the sights and there is something for everyone. The country may not be large, but it is certainly packed with amazing places to see.

Read more