Login

Cannot login?
Cancel

friendly animal lover

ID: 8o9

Name:

Hannah

Is / are:

Single

Age group:

36 to 45

Profession:

Self-employed accountant

Years active:

2 years

Preferred locations:

All the United Kingdom (full regions list)

Reply rating:

4.8 out of 5

More information about this house sitter

As an animal-lover I have done several house-sits since joining this website a couple of years ago, and also occasional house-sits over the previous years for friends and colleagues.
I have experience with looking after cats and dogs of all sizes, equines, poultry, birds, hamsters, and fish.

My favourite sit so far was a paid job consisting of a 4-week stay at a 17th century farm in the beautiful Devon countryside. While there I cared for 2 outdoor donkeys, one of whom was old and unwell and needed regular medication but improved under my care, 15 poultry (4 groups of hens and ducks), and initially 6 dogs, small, medium and large, and ranging from 3 months old to elderly in age.
One of the 6 dogs was a 10-month-old spaniel heavily pregnant with her first litter when I got there. As soon as the owners left for their trip she started her labour, and after a long night where I rested beside her on the large dog mattress on the kitchen floor, to give much needed comfort and reassurance, I became the proud 'auntie' to a litter of 7 healthy puppies! Although this was all completely unplanned on the part of the owners and very last-minute as their usual local sitter had become unavailable, it was a dream come true for me! Even more so with the location as I have always loved countryside farm environments!
I am level-headed in a crisis and resourceful so was also able to deal with various medical issues, quickly extracting dead squirrels from the jaws of an excitable young Irish Greyhound(!), a power cut, water-supply issues, and I enjoyed all of the challenges the job presented.

A bit about me; born and bred in Manchester, I have had my own small business for 25 years and been a homeowner for 21 years. I work from home, and so can happily work from anywhere with a wifi connection. The same four walls can get a little monotonous after a while! Plus I have a natural love of travel and visiting different places.
Am also a car owner so more than willing to drive to a more distant location for a longer house sit. More local sits are welcome too.

I grew up with various close family members and neighbours being dog and cat owners and being an animal lover myself, spent as much time as possible with the animals I loved. Would love to be a pet owner myself, but have not been ready to curb my love of travelling so far and don't feel that it would be fair or easy to keep leaving them for long periods. So I make the most of all opportunities to enjoy the company of other people's pets instead!

I am fortunate to have shared the attentive love of a cat with my busy neighbour for the past 15 years, have a history of helping close friends with their pets and also giving care to street cats and dogs during my longer stays abroad. I have an endless supply of cuddles for any animal that enjoys them, but am sensitive to and respectful of them if they have more distant boundaries too. As one of my photos shows, I also have no issues co-sleeping alongside the pets I look after if they prefer it.

As a homeowner myself I understand how important it is to return to your home and find it the same way you left it. Will happily follow instructions left, and keep in regular contact if so desired during the stay.
I grow some of my own herbs, fruit and vegetables, and have many indoor plants, so can also look after house or garden plants if needed.

Finally, I have never been a smoker, am only a very light occasional drinker, stopped eating mammal meat at age 12, and am a big fan of living a healthy lifestyle.
If you have any questions please let me know, and thank you for reading!
Read more...

Contact Sitter

To contact this House Sitter please:

LoginorJoin our Home Owners

Top