Login

Forgot password
Cancel

Peacehaven, South East England

ID: 37u

Name:

Alexa

Nearest major city:

Brighton

Sitter required for:

5 Feb 2019 20 Feb 2019

Number of days:

15

Pet sitting required:

Yes

Sitter's pets welcome:

No

Reply rating:

4.65 stars

More Information

Hi we are Alexa and Sarah, a couple living in a country cottage just outside of Peacehaven in the Sussex south downs. We both enjoy a holiday or two a year and would love to find animal loving sitters to care for our furry and feathered friends whilst we are away. Our 2 cats are very loving and gentle creatures - once they get to know you they will love to sit down for lap time with you on the sofa (and will join you on the bed too if you let them!) Our 2 house bunnies are very sweet but are a bit nervous so don't enjoy being picked up. Mertle is our rescue chicken who loves to scratch around for worms and is very partially to a bit of chopped up tomatoes or boiled rice!
Our home is an 1850s farmers cottage situated on a converted farm surrounded by fields and horses. We have lived here for just over 3 years now and can honestly say it feels like we are on holiday every time we look at our beautiful surroundings.
Location wise, we are lucky to have the peace and quiet of the countryside with birdsong being the only sounds we really hear but also close enough to local amenities. The closest shop is situated about 5 mins drive or 20 mins walk away. There is also a bus route that stops at the end of our road (about 7 mins walk) that takes you directly into the centre of Brighton and normally takes around 30 mins. There are also lots of nice walks to be had, the river Ouse is a mile walk from here and you can follow the river all the way in to Lewes.
Within our home we have a small kitchen and breakfast room, a living room with a large comfy sofa, TV and wood burning stove, a downstairs loo and the rabbits also have a room to themselves! Upstairs we have our bedroom, 2 guest rooms and 2 bathrooms.
If you want to have time away from it all then this house is just perfect. Our lovely animals make the best companions and the nature around us is so lovely to be part of.
We always provide our house sitters with lots of information about the daily needs for the animals but in brief, it's really just feeding and watering our 5 pets mentioned, cleaning of the rabbits area and litter tray and a bit of poop picking in Mertle's hen house. We feed our cats and rabbits at the same times of day - normally around 8am in the morning and 6pm in the evening. With Mertle the chicken, she does require a bit more attention. We feed her as soon as we wake up but also supervise her feeding so once she has had enough to eat we remove her food. Living in the country comes with it's share of wildlife in every form and we have found that we can get problems with mice and rats if we leave her food lying around. So we tend to take her food in to her 2 or 3 times a day when possible so she has a chance to eat enough. Finally, we also have a hive of bees at the end of our garden but don't require our house sitters to do anything with them! Just to be aware that they are there and not get too close. They keep to themselves and we make sure they have everything they need before we go on trips away. From October-April they are in hibernation so you wont see them at all.

Contact Owner

To contact this Home Owner please

LoginorJoin our House Sitters

House Sitting in England

Tower bridge London EnglandHouse sitting in England is the ideal way to see the sights and there is something for everyone. The country may not be large, but it is certainly packed with amazing places to see.

Read more

Other House Sitting positions nearby

Seaford, South East England 20 Apr 2019 11 May 2019 21 days
Top